< All News

Naked wins Edinburgh TV Award with The Rap Game UK

The Rap Game UK has taken home the Edinburgh TV Award for Best Entertainment Series 2020. The 6-part BBC3 series faced tough competition in the category, including the likes of Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway, Gogglebox, Taskmaster and The Graham Norton Show. The show was commended by the judges as being “so unusual, so raw and real compared to regular TV competition formats“.


18 November 2020, London: BBC Two was awarded the prestigious Channel of the Year Award at this year’s Edinburgh TV Awards it was revealed today, via a Twitter extravaganza hosted by social media sensation, Munya Chawawa.

In a new twist on award ceremonies, the Edinburgh TV Festival revealed the winners of the 20 highly regarded awards on its @EdinburghTVFest handle and #EdTVAwards, in an extended lunch break treat featuring top-name presenters and special guest appearances.

Riz Ahmed, Romesh Ranganathan, Abi Morgan and Charlotte Moore were among those who presented awards, which celebrate the amazing quality and range of the UK and international TV industries over a challenging 12 months.

Chawawa, opened proceedings alongside several of his characters including posh drill rapper Unknown P, celebrity chef Jonny Oliver, and newsreader – and now Netflix host – Barty Crease, showcasing the skills that have made him one of the UK’s hottest and most in-demand content creators.

Winners included: For Sama for Best Documentary, a category that was presented by actor and writer Riz Ahmed; Feel Good for Best Comedy Series which was presented to the show’s creator and star Mae Martin by her co-star Charlotte Ritchie; BBC Three’s The Rap Game UK for Best Entertainment Series with DJ Target sharing the news with his fellow show presenters, Krept and Konan; and Succession for Best International Drama, accepted by the show’s creator, Jesse Armstrong.

Romesh Ranganathan surprised BBC Channel Controller Patrick Holland as he accepted the Channel of the Year award for BBC Two. He also accepted the Specialist Channel of the Year Award for BBC Four. All4 won Best On Demand Service.

The Edinburgh TV Festival’s Creative Director, Stewart Clarke, said: “In a very challenging year it has been great to take a moment to celebrate amazing work and the amazing people in our industry. It is testament to the tenacity and innovation of producers, channels, streamers, freelancers and a host of others, that there was such a formidable list of nominees and brilliant group of winners. Thank you to the incredibly talented Munya Chawawa for hosting the awards and bringing some great characters to the party, and a huge congratulations from the Festival to the 2020 winners.”

As part of the Festival and TV Awards’ commitment to becoming more sustainable and eco-friendly, this year’s awards are made from certified sustainable timber.

The full list of winners and nominees is detailed below. A reel of all the videos from the Awards will be available on the Edinburgh TV Festival YouTube Channel in the next few days.

Further information and FAQs can be found on the Edinburgh TV Festival website